Distributions of the large seismic intensity areas of the 1729 Noto, the 1799 Kaga, and the 2007 Notohanto eartquakes

Yoshinobu Tsuji[1]

[1] ERI, Univ. Tokyo

The area of seismic intensity 6 of the 2007 Notohanto-Oki earthquake covers the central and north west part of the Noto Peninsula. In this area and its vicinities, two historical earthquakes occurred; the 1729 Kyoho-14 Noto and the 1799 Kansei-11 Kaga earthquakes. In the present study, we compiled databases of events induced by these earthquakes at pinpoints on the basis of old documents. It is clarified that the area of seismic intensity 6 of the 1729 Kyoho-14 Noto earthquake is circumscribed that of the 2007 Notohanto-Oki earthquake.

And moreover the area of seismic intensity equal to or over 5 is also circumscribed that of the 2007 Notohanto-Oki earthquake in the south boundary.